print story Print email this story to a friend E-Mail

tool name

tool goes here

Team McChord deemed ‘mission ready’

62nd Airlift Wing Public Affairs

Published: 01:54PM November 15th, 2012

Staff Sgt. Frances Kriss

Airmen receive their accountability numbers upon arrival during the 2012 Operational Readiness Inspection Oct. 15, at Volk Field Combat Readiness Training Center, Wis. Airmen from the 62nd and 446th Airlift wings and the 627th Air Base Group teamed up to demonstrate their ability to perform in a wartime, during a contingency or a force sustainment mission.

The 62nd Airlift Wing and 627th Air Base Group were deemed “mission ready” during an Operational Readiness Inspection outbrief Nov. 5 at the McChord Field base theater.

The ORI, which took place Oct. 13 to 20 at the Volk Field Combat Readiness Training Center, Wis., tested the units’ ability to conduct its wartime mission. The team earned an overall grade of satisfactory during the inspection.

“This team is clearly ready and very capable of performing their global air mobility mission,” said Col. Andrew Molnar, Air Mobility Command Inspector General inspection team chief. “They are a well-led and exceptionally motivated team, and have cultivated a positive culture of safety, strong teamwork and unit pride.”

After the awards and comments from the IG, leadership praised the Airmen on a job well done.

“This is my proudest day as a commander,” said Col. Wyn Elder, 62nd AW commander. “We rocked this year. You’ve proven to be mission ready and it can be clearly seen as this past week we worked together to provide support to Hurricane Sandy relief efforts.”

The 627th ABG commander, Col. Valerie Hasberry, also commended the efforts.

“Our units pulled together and we excelled,” she said. “Everyone should be able to hold their heads high knowing they did a job well done.”

In addition to announcing the overall grade, IG team members recognized exceptional performers.

Airmen honored

The following Airmen were recognized for exceptional performance:

62nd Airlift Wing Aircraft Maintenance Unit Control Center Team — 62nd Aircraft Maintenance Squadron: • Staff Sgt. Lindsay High • Staff Sgt. Joshua Jaburek

Aircrew Flight Equipment Aircrew Generation Team — 62nd Operations Support Squadron: • Tech. Sgt. Monica Silver • Tech. Sgt. Morgan Walker • Senior Airman Stephen Lamb • Senior Airman Breanna Reeves • Senior Airman Michael Vandermeer • Airman 1st Class Anthony Carvalho • Airman 1st Class Robert Dean • Airman 1st Class William Glover III • Airman 1st Class Christian Hill • Airman 1st Class Brandon Rhode

Flightline Production Team — 62nd AMXS: • Master Sgt. Brian Hobson • Master Sgt. Patrick Remfrey

Maintenance Operations Center Team — 62nd Maintenance Operations Squadron: • Staff Sgt. Kasey Davidson • Senior Airman Eliseo Malave Squadron Operations Intelligence Team — 62nd OSS 1st Lt. Jane Chai Staff Sgt. Travis Fifth Staff Sgt. Alyssa Wiseman

Top individual performers identified by the IG: • Staff Sgt. Omar Ansari, 62nd OSS • Staff Sgt. Christopher Clark, 62nd AMXS • Staff Sgt. Frances Kriss, 62nd AW Public Affairs • Staff Sgt. Eva Ramirez, 62nd OSS

IG coin recipients: • Capt. Jason Birdsall, 8th Airlift Squadron • Capt. Nana Knight, 62nd AW Legal office • Tech. Sgt. John Farr, 62nd OSS • Tech. Sgt. Gregory Stucky, 62nd Aerial Port Squadron • Staff Sgt. Robert Leibley, 62nd AMXS

627th Air Base Group Fire Emergency Services — 627th Civil Engineer Squadron: • Senior Master Sgt. Christopher Maxwell • Tech. Sgt. John Person • Staff Sgt. William Carter • Staff Sgt. Jeremy Chivington • Staff Sgt. Ebenezer Evanoff • Staff Sgt. Alexander Galien • Staff Sgt. Alexander Rodriguez • Staff Sgt. David Yi • Senior Airman Thomas Eddins • Senior Airman David Foster • Senior Airman Matthew Jewett • Airman 1st Class Kevin Alfonso • Airman 1st Class Justen Farias • Airman 1st Class Steven Soto

Installation Entry Control Point Team — 627th Security Forces Squadron: • Tech. Sgt. Christopher Flores • Staff Sgt. Randy Rodriguez • Senior Airman Aaron Jeter • Airman 1st Class Adam Spears • Airman Michael Bradley

Top individual performers identified by the IG: • Tech. Sgt. Michael Barbarino, 627th Force Support Squadron • Staff Sgt. Nathaly Acosta, 627th FSS • Staff Sgt. Shaun Wheeler, 627th Logistics Readiness Squadron

IG coin recipients: • Master Sgt. Bonnie Longie, 627th FSS • Staff Sgt. Ciara Horn, 627th FSS • Staff Sgt. Janna Less, 627th SFS • Staff Sgt. Ryan McCammon, 627th FSS • Staff Sgt. David Yi, 627th CES • Senior Airman Michael Vidick, 627th SFS